ILLINOIS (IRN) — After the minimum wage for hourly workers in Illinois increased on New Year’s Day, state officials are reminding employees to check their paychecks to make sure they see the increase.
As of the first of the year, the state’s minimum wage increased to $9.25 an hour. Illinois Department of Labor Director Michael Kleinik said workers should check their pay stubs.
“We expect compliance with all employers regarding minimum wage,” Kleinik said. “We want to remind workers that may want to check their check to make sure that they have received the new minimum wage.”
The wage increase only affects hours worked in the new year.
The last minimum wage increase in Illinois was 10 years ago when the rate was increased to $8.25 per hour.
Gov. J.B. Pritzker signed the minimum wage increase into law in February 2019. The next increase will come on July 1, when the state minimum wage will increase to $10 an hour. The minimum wage will then increase by $1 an hour each Jan. 1, until 2025 when it will reach $15 an hour.
There are provisions in the minimum wage law that allow for lower wages.
Employers can count tips or gratuities to offset wages for workers who regularly earn tips. The provision has a significant impact on the foodservice industry. The law allows tipped employees to be paid 60 percent of the hourly minimum wage, but also mandates that these workers must still earn the minimum wage after receiving tips.
Workers who are younger than 18 and work fewer than 650 hours a year have a minimum wage of $8 an hour. That is an increase from $7.75. The youth minimum will also see gradual increases over the next few years, reaching $13 an hour by 2025.
More than 1.4 million adult hourly workers in Illinois make less than $15 per hour, according to the Illinois Economic Policy Institute at the University of Illinois.